Mumbai students win gold medal at Boston’s MIT for invention to remove paan stains

A group of students from Ramnarain Ruia College in Matunga, Mumbai have been awarded a gold medal by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in an international competition. They were nominated in three categories. They won the medal for their eco-friendly solution to remove paan stains

Hon.CM Meet with Ruia College StudentThe students were recently recognised at the International Genetically Engineered Machine competition (iGEM) held at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Boston last week.

This competitions is held each year, it helps bring bright minds together who come together to invent solutions for problems of the modern world.

The students were nominated for and won in the special category of Best Integrated Human Practices. The won a prize and gold medal for their project, which used the biological synthesis of microbes and enzymes to get rid of paan stains.

They were also nominated for the Best Project under Environmental Track and Best Presentation. Their project is a reasonable and low-cost eco-friendly solution to remove stubborn paan stains. For this project they took the suggestions offered by cleaners, paan sellers, railway station administrators, cleaning organisations etc,.

For their project they drew inspiration from Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Swachh Bharat Mission. The students of the Ruia Youth Research group have bought recognition to their college on an international level.

The students were recently congratulated and felicitated by Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis who appreciated their efforts contributing to a cleaner country. They were given certificates and the Chief Minister wished them luck for their work ahead.

The names of the students who participated in the iGEM competition are as follows: Aishwariya Rajurkar, Anjali Vaidya, Komal Parab, Nishita Pange, Maithali Sawant, Mithali Patil, Savita Ambre, and Shrutika Sawant.

The students were taught and worked under the guidance of Dr Anushree Lokhure, Dr Manjiri Rege, Dr Sachin Rajgopalm, and Dr Mugdha Kulkarni.