Dr Shivkumar Utture, MMC’s newly elected president

Maharashtra Medical Council whose election as held in, which is a quasi-judicial body governing quality of medical education and medical ethics in state. Its election was held in December 2016 after the state government dissolved the old MMC committee



Eight months after the Maharashtra Medical Council (MMC) held elections to set up a new executive committee, the council gets its President and new executive committee members. Dr Shivkumar Utture has been elected as new president, while Dr Jayesh Lele has been appointed as Vice President.

While speaking to My Medical Mantra, the newly elected MMC president Dr Utture said, “I am thankful to the medical education minister for having conducted this election. The executive committee has been formed. We will work for the good work in medical field.”

MMC is a quasi-judicial body which governs quality of medical education and medical ethics in state. An autonomous body, it reserves rights to provide registration and cancellation of medical licences.

It was in August 2016 when the state government dissolved the MMC committee.


Dr Pratap Jadhav, Dr Rinki Raghuwani, Dr Anil Laddhad, Dr Ajit Gupchude, Dr Archana Pate and Dr Dilip Sarda are the executive committee members.

The Council has 18 members, of which nine are elected by doctors, four are ex-officio members and five are appointed by state government.

MMC election for the nine seats was held on December 18, 2016 and the result was announced on December 24, 2016.

The election was held in 36 districts of the state at various medical colleges. The nine elected members for the new Council includes Dr Sanjay Kadam, Dr Mangesh Gulwade, Dr Anil Laddhad, Dr Jayesh Lele, Dr Shivkumar Utture, Dr Ashok Tambe, Dr Archana Pate, Dr Dilip Sarda, and Dr Nisarahmed Shaikh.

The new committee will be facing a mammoth task of tackling a huge backlog of medico legal cases. MMC presently has around 774 medico-legal cases out of which 17 were filed by the patients.

The President was elected unanimously. For the post of Vice President there Sanjay Kadam and Dr Jayesh Lele were the candidates. Dr Lele has won. The executive committee was elected unanimously,” said Dr Abhay Chowdhary,  administrator, MMC who conducted the election.